Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable.

With the advent of technology people’s way of communicating have changed. Communication between individuals who are separated by a distance has become easier through the use of cell phone and internet. While others say that such technology makes people more sociable, others are of the notion that it has affected the way we socialize adversely. In my point of view, it has improved the means we connect to people who are far from us, but it has had a negative effect on how we socialize personally. Modern technology such as cell phone and internet has improved the way we communicate to our love ones who is far from us. Cell phones and internet can be used with a click of a finger, not only to talk to someone across the globe, but also we can see them through video call. We can use cell phone applications like “IMO” and” face time” to make video calls, here we can see them like face to face. As such brings a feeling that as if we are with our love ones. However, though these technologies have had benefits of long distance communication, it has also spoiled the way we deal face to face. Many people nowadays do not personally talk as often as before. It is common to see people who are spending a lot of their time in their phone checking face book and chatting with someone. In doing so, they lessen their time in talking to someone who is with them. For instance, in a restaurant, some people do not often talk to each other because everyone is busy on their cell phones. Situations like this took away the precious time for personal communications. In conclusion, although modern technology has improved the way we socialize with someone who is miles away from us, it has affected the way we deal with someone who is with us adversely. Self-discipline should be observed in using communication technology so that socialization in our community will not be compromised.