Fossil fuels (coal, oil and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In many countries, fossil fuels have been consumed with a big amount and played an important role in certain industries. However, governments in some countries have made renewable sources of energy such as wind and solar become more popular. In my opinion, I strongly believe that supporting the usage of sustainable sources of power is a positive development. On one hand, there are challenges arising when applying alternative sources of energy. First of all, generator systems such as polar panels or windmills require advanced technologies which are not available in some developing countries. Besides, initial costs to build proper facilities for renewable energy are much higher than fossil fuels, so that authorities may not be willing to invest in alternative sources of energy. However, the sustainable sources of power have been proved to have lots of advantages by scientists. Firstly, scientific studies have proved that renewable energy does not harm the environment as much as the fossil fuels do. For example, solar energy is generated by polar panels which gather heat from the sun, then transfer it into electricity. The whole progress is very friendly to the environment while burning coals or petrol causes serious effects such as the greenhouse effect, which in turns leads to global warming. Secondly, natural resources such as the sun, wind and tide are free and unlimited while formation of fossil fuels requires thousands of years to establish. Therefore, the price of solar or wind power will become cheaper in comparison with petrol or coals in the long term. For that reason, it can be concluded that not only the environment but also the economy will have benefits from sustainable energy. In a nutshell, it is undeniable that the increasing popularity of alternative sources of power has been bringing about many positive impacts on the environment. Thus, governments should invest more money to build infrastructure which enables further development of renewable energy.