Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable.

Some people believe that new technology has impacted the way people network and make new friends, while others think this advancement is making them more introverted. In my opinion, technology can be used for effective communication and people should utilize this more often as the world is gradually turning into a digital village. On the one hand, the advent of modern technology such as smartphones has made it convenient for people to socialize and communicate. Indeed, the world is fast becoming a global hub where people find it quite convenient to interact and engage with other people without physically meeting them. This has in a significant way boosted the confidence level of a lot of people, especially those who are timid or shy in person. There has been recorded instances where modern technology has aided people getting jobs, building and sustaining relationships, as well as, closing business deals. In China, for example, the rate of smartphone and laptop users has tremendously increased due to the seamless communication benefits it provides. On the other hand, with new technology comes its challenges. Many people have fallen victims of identity theft, which is a major reason why people find it difficult to socialize with others using technological devices that are in trend. There are people who believe that to keep their personal information safe, they need to stay away from anything that exposes their privacy. In addition, some people have become less sociable due to the cyber bullying and hate speeches they have encountered on public forums. This is a very particular case as seen with half of the population in Michigan, Chicago. To conclude, modern technology has improved the lives of many people by making communication easy. People should endeavor to utilize these innovative advancements to stay abreast of digital trends.