Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

These days, many governments spend their funds not only for public services but also for the arts. Even though it is essential to invest in the needs of the people, but I believe spending in visual wonders is not a bad idea. There are few pros in these also. This essay will discuss this issue by using a few key points to support my views. On the one hand, spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services is beneficial for society. Eg. Providing for basic amenities, such as hospitals, roads, and schools, helps to determine the quality of life that most citizens will have. For example, a recent survey by Education Today shows that countries that spend more on schools have a population that is higher in literacy, by 65%, compared to those that dedicate no money to Education. Therefore spending on public services is a worthwhile investment for a government. However, this does not mean that the visual arts should be neglected entirely. The visual arts also have an essential impact on our quality of life. For example, a recent study conducted by the World Health Organization concluded that individuals that regularly visit art galleries are cited as being 20% happier in life than people who do not. Seeing the health benefits that many people get from the visual arts, it is essential that the government assists such institutions so that they can continue to please the public. To sum up, although there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services, I do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of money as this too provides important benefits. In the future, governments should consider budgeting for both.