Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessments are possible?

Universities in most countries around the world tend to formally examine their students at the end of every semester. Formal exams are carried out in order to measure learning progress and determine the particular academic level of their students. Despite the widespread usage of formal examinations, there are many other ways to examine students including essay writing and interviews to name but a few. Measuring progress and determining the particular level of a student through formal examination is important for many stakeholders. Most importantly, the student wants to be evaluated in order to know how well he or she is progressing. In addition, universities and schools like to know how effective their teaching practices are. I have been both a student and a teacher and on both occasions I appreciated knowing whether or not I was progressing or whether my students were progressing. It is for these reasons that formal examinations are still widely used in schools and universities today. Formal examinations are not the only way to measure student performance; there are a variety of ways to measure outcomes that are not 'formal' per se. Instead of writing exams, students could have an end of semester interview where they share their knowledge. Or they may want to do something more creative and make something of their knowledge in the form of art or invention. On of the best assessments that I had at university involved me creating a portfolio of writing. This was less formal but still an excellent way for me and my professor to evaluate my level of understanding. All around the world, students take formal examinations every semester. Schools and universities must endeavor to monitor the progress of their students and formal examination is one of the way of doing this. In spite of ubiquity of formal assessment, there are other much more varied and sometimes creative ways to examine students.