Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessments are possible?

Academic Institutions in most countries now based on the assessment of their student using a written form of the exam. There are reasons for this practice. However, in my opinion, I believe that other means of testing, such as group assignment and oral presentation, should also be considered. Admittedly, formal assessment is conducted to test if the students understand the subject treated in class. They are used by the end of the term to review what has been taught throughout the academic year. It then means that questions are structured based on what is taught in the period under review. Also, the formal exam is used because school authorities believe it is a fair means of assessing student. Since they will remain under the supervision of the examiner in an enclosed environment, if invigilators strictly conduct examination malpractices will be curbed. Nevertheless, Group assignment can be given to students weekly. It will help them to improve on their team working spirit and also is an avenue to cooperate, among others. Doing so, it will bring the best out of them. In furtherance to this, an oral presentation is another means of improving communication skills. It is proved that it helps in building the confidence level in adulthood. For instance, a recent study conducted by Cambridge University discovered that in every 1 to 3 university student that involve in presentation perform excellently in their communication during the job interview. To conclude, although exams are the ideal practice use to test the knowledge of the student on particular topics. I believe that using other forms of assessment like group projects and oral presentation will build the student for future challenges.