Some people think that mental strength is more important for success in sport. Some people believe that physical health is more important.

It is often believed that physical health is more important than mental strength for success in sport. There are many people with the opposite opinion, though. In my view, mental power is more important than physical health and here I will try to explain why do I think so. To begin with there are many professional sportsmen who started their careers behind other competitors in terms of pure strength, endurance or agility. However, those who had enough persistence and will get better results in the end. For instant, Muggsy Bogues a professional basketball player whose height was short compared to other players. In the end, Muggsy formed his aggressive game style based on his short height and agility thanks to that got his nickname. Another thing is it is not as easy to train own mental power. Although the same statement can be applied to physique as well when it comes to mental condition improvement, it requires not only discipline, efforts and a strong will but certain situations. Mental power is trained in stressful situations when a person needs to make a difficult choice or protect his rights or honour. What is more challenging than pushups or training with weights. Doubtless, physical strength is a crucial quality for the sportsman as it widens his opportunity. And here we meet other problems. Of course, in long terms physically strong person will outclass the weak one as his limits comparatively higher. But we should take into account the fact that people often give up a half due to the lack of motivation or any other reasons. Another problem is stress. It is undeniable that any competitive sport is also stressful. Often mentally weak people just can't handle the stress what causes bad performance. To conclude, it is up to everybody to decide what is more important mental strength or physical health. Humans are rather balanced creatures and it is a rare case when one quality strongly surpasses another. The same idea is here. Nonetheless, when we talk about the exact proportions I still think that mental power is a crucial quality not only in sports but in life.