Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

In the last 30 years, the job market has been changing into a very competitive environment for both, employers and employees. This has been even more competitive for the job seekers. Nowadays, new applicants race towards showcasing their skills and points of strength, however; when it comes to personal information, there are two opposite views for two different groups of people. The first group of people and I believe that it is mostly relevant to include any personal information in job applications. These data might include things like hobbies and marital status. Relevantly, disclosing these aspects about a person's life can be considered helpful for some employers as they can give early signs of their expected working time in general. For instance, a single person is expected to have more flexibility to work overtime more than a married person. This has proven to be correct in my current workplace as many applicants tend to clarify many aspects about their life in order to provide the company with clear expectations and image of their capabilities. As well, my company has been very keen on avoiding the hiring of married couples, as she always chose to hire one of them only to avoid unnecessary competition between them. On the other hand, the opposing group puts more limits on the privacy of individuals, regardless of how this would affect their chances of being hired. Such limitation is reasoned by limiting employer interference in people's lives and decisions. As a matter of fact, there are no regulations that prohibit employers from receiving anything that was sent willingly by applicants as long as they do not share the application with a 3rd party. Accordingly, as I noticed in a previous firm that I worked for, the employer was extremely surprised by a 30 day leave permission that was requested by an employee who was very keen to participate in a yearly karate competition. Such situation has escalated faster and the corporation had to ask other individuals in the department to work more than 12 hours every day.