Some people think that living in a country for a period of time is needed to learn the language and culture.

When discussing the advatages associated with living abroad, in order to gain better language skills, one should bear in mind the complexity of the issue. Although some people think it is not efficient to leave abroad, due to the financial costs, others believe it is vital in order to fully absorb the culture and society of the country. In my opinion, staying in a foreign place gives a substantially deeper insight to the country's language and culture, and should be done when possible. In this essay, I will give reasons and explenations to my argument. One explenation in favor of my opinion, is that when staying as a foreigner in a specific country, you will undoubtadly experience greater exposure to the local language, in comparison to other people. For example, a recent research from Harvard University, reported that people living in a non-native speaking country, were able to read the local newspaper within 4 months, in contrast to people who studied at the local University. This example shows, that when leaving abroad, people are exposed to the local language much more, and as a result, learn to talk and read the local language much faster. Another argument supporting my opinion is that by visiting a far away place, we encounter historical sites, and see with our own eyes places of great importance. By seeing these locations, instead of reading about it, we learn much more in regards to the local history and culture. As an example, a recent poll by the Israeli Tourist Organization, reported that 20% of the people who visited Israel during 2015, changed their opinion about the Jewish people's right to leave in Israel. This demonstrates, that by visiting and staying in a specific place we can truely understand and absorb the local culture, much more then reading about it. In conclusion, I maintain that if one is interested in absorbing a country's language and culture, he should leave their for a perid of time. it is the fastest and best way to know it.