It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sports should be compulsory for all students in all schools. What do you think?

With children and teenagers spending a lot of time in academic studies, making way for physical activities and picking a sport may get too taxing. The curriculum in schools should have such arrangements to make the subject of physical education and blending in some sports mandatory. Considering the physical health issues like obesity and mental well-being associated with video games and mobile phones these days along with dietary habits, incorporating games and exercise in the curriculum is certainly a good way to breed a healthy generation. Having said that, there are many reasons associated with introducing recreational activities in academia. To start with, children and teenagers are prone to the sedentary lifestyle because of the technology and gadgets which includes mobile and console gaming. Imparting a physical education to these pupils will mean they stay active and prioritise their functional health. Moreover, the diet too is not healthy as the generation eats a lot of fast food. Sports can create health awareness amongst the youth and motivates them to opt for healthy food to remain competitive. To exemplify, there are institutes in Australia that facilitate outdoor activities and athletics within the school premises and the same are included in the course. No wonder why they are ahead in almost every sport including Cricket, Football and Rugby while winning quite some medals at the Olympics events. Nurturing athleticism and sportsmanship from the conservatory-level is one way to gift nation with the healthy citizens for the coming time. Concluding the same, the importance of physical education and sporting activities cannot be emphasized enough. Time and again, it has been proved that fitter, healthier students promote a fitter lifestyle to the society which makes it positively infectious. Educational institutes focusing on these areas proves vital to the country as well.