Some people think that living in a country for a period of time is needed to learn the language and culture.

It is true that some people argue that staying in a foreign country for a while is necessary to study the culture and language. I firmly agree with this statement and this essay will support my opinion giving some examples. On the one hand, studying a foreign language by staying abroad would increase the speed of learning, which appears very tempting for many. However, there are some reasons that should not be underestimated. Firstly, it is the cost price. Living abroad is a dream of many people, but its cost is considerably higher. For instance, there are many schools which allow students to study and live abroad at the same time, but these services are pretty much expensive, it would cost for a normal student roughly 10000 euros for 6 months and within this period is not certain that the student will master the language or achieve his purpose. Secondly, the environment. Many people underestimate this factor since they believe that every country have almost the same environment, which is not true. As a result, people may develop a homesick and give up without learning too much about the subjects. On the other hand, there is a high amount of the benefits of living in a foreign country. First of all, there are possibilities to increase the speech ability by talking with local people. In this case, foreigners might develop a native pronunciation and, consequently, improve their vocabulary skills. Furthermore, the knowledge of the culture will increase since they witness it everyday in their daily routine. For example, foreigners can easily learn some culture by doing some of the most banal activities, such as shopping, eat local foods and so on. In conclusion, living abroad is a dream of many, and by doing so it would be easier for foreigners to learn the language and culture. As far as I am concerned, this approach is necessary to study a new language and culture.