Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centres. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that oversized corporations are better to be moved in regional areas rather than inside big city centres. In my opinion, I think that relocation of these companies will bring more problems to the society than any of the advantages it might give. Admittedly, there are some simple benefits of moving these massive businesses. Firstly, the city residents will be able to live in an environment with lesser pollution. Some big oil companies in the past have been reported to have oil spillage, contaminating the source of drinking water and causing sickness to the population. Transferring big firms like this could help avoid nature contamination and decrease the disease rate for the people. Secondly, there would be wider space for the individuals. As large companies take up more room in the city, there is also lesser space given to important government sectors such as schools or residential housing. Relocating, therefore, can help a city distribute land for the public’s interest. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe that the society could face serious drawbacks from the relocation of huge corporations. One awful disadvantage would be the long waiting time for vital supplies. Many of these businesses supply the city for specific needs, such as medicines or food. Moving them farther could cause scarcity of such goods as the travel time will be longer. Another detrimental issue would be the increase number of jobless individuals. The relocating company would need to hire people from the new area, leaving the city people unemployed. This would lead to decrease the city’s productivity level that may later on become a great economical problem. In conclusion, delayed supplies and an increase in unemployment rate far outweighs the basic benefits of transferring huge industrial companies from the city centre to a provincial land.