Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Leisure times are more and more important to people in today’s stressful world. Most people think that it is crucial to utilize free time for activities that can improve one’s mind. Some people however strongly advocate that resting the mind during leisure time is more important. It is interesting to see that people from different background have different perception on the same issue. I will discuss both views and provide my opinion in the following essay. Those who agree with the former idea gives their reasons as follow. To start off, if we were to use our free time to read or work on word puzzles, our brain will more likely to remain active and fresh as we never stop using it. This is why elderly people should never stop working their mind and constantly try to improve them. For instance, elderly who constantly play Mahjong are more likely to stay alert and sharp compared to those who didn’t. Another reason is that, we are to focus on our work on studies in the daily life and forgot to upgrade and improve ourselves. On the other hand, some people think we should keep our minds unoccupied during the free times. This is mostly because we are too immerse in our daily life that is already stress enough for the brain. Hence, we should rest our mind to help us go further and start afresh. Besides that, we should not continue to stress the brain as it may bring unhealthy consequences such as difficulties to fall asleep as well as overstressed. In conclusion, both positions make good and reasonable argument. Personally, I believe that we should take a break every now and then from the stressful environment we are in so we don’t overwork our mind. Furthermore, we should be extra careful of our mental health as there are many increasing cases of stress and depression.