The principal is considering a new grading policy that replaces letter or number grades on report cards with pass or fail. What is your position concerning this issue? Write an essay stating your position and supporting it with convincing reasons.

Some schools in the U. S have removed the “A to F” grading system and replaced it by the “Pass-Fail” system. There are differing viewpoints for both grading systems. Some students prefer the letter grades, while other students prefer a generic grading system, such as “Pass-Fail” system. In my opinion, I am against the “Pass-Fail” system because this system does not provide a precise measurement of how well students are doing. Evaluating students’ progress requires a precise measure. If a student receives a “C”, he knows that he is ranked as average in a class. As a result, this student may work harder in order to get a better grade. On the other hand, the “Pass-Fail” system does not show precisely where he falls among other students. Also, the “A to F” grading system may also increase students’ motivation in learning. To illustrate, I remember I got a “C” in one of my assignments; thus, I worked much harder in my next assignment because I wanted to get a better grade. Another benefit of the “A to F” system is that letter grades are universally understood by many schools. If a student move school, the new school will be able to determine his academic ability by reviewing his grades. With the “Pass-Fail” system, the new school may need more information to evaluate this new student. Last but not least, most universities require students to meet their predetermined grade-point-average (GPA) as part of the admission requirements. Traditionally, GPA is derived from the grade of each subject. Therefore, it will be difficult to measure the student’s ability using a “Pass-Fail” system. Furthermore, some universities may not accept a student’s admission without a GPA. In conclusion, the “A to F” grading system have existed for many years. Although there are some areas of improvement, this is the best grading system in order to give a clear measure for a student’s academic achievement.