Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Many people obsess over the best way to utilise their free time. In my opinion, it is a better idea to use the free time balancing both stimulating and relaxation activities to maintain a healthy yet fulfilled life. To begin with, some people just love a good challenge. For these people, the definition of a perfect afternoon is being able to solve a challenging math problem or solving a particularly nasty sudoku puzzle. As an example from my own engineering college experience, I have met many such fine young men and women. They are often driven and work really hard. From my discussion with them, it was clear that they were exhilerated by being able to study and apply the challenging computer science curriculum. On the other hand, we have people who put in great work, but still advocate for a work-life balance. To these people, spending time with their family or doing hobbies that require minimal thinking is a great way of relieving the stress of their hectic jobs. For instance, at my office, I was greatly inspired by my mentor, who, inspite of being a senior software engineer, has an active life outside programming. He is an avid bird-watcher and photographer, has a good instagram following and maintains a healthy lifestyle by using a cycle to commute to work. I feel that relaxing and winding down after work helps him perform better at his job. In conclusion, I feel that both being gleeful at the prospect of solving challenging problems and having hobbies that help you cool off are essential to maintain your mind's best condition.