Advantages and disadvantages of increased life time

The average life span of human beings has been increased because of the improvement in medical facilities. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of the increased life expectancy and will explain why its merits outweigh the disadvantages. Providing health care for the older generation is one of the major hurdles faced by governments across the world. The government has to spend more on their budget for the welfare of senior citizens. In addition to that, old people can’t be much active in their job and they won’t be in a position to work after a certain age. For instance, more people will be retired from the workforce and the responsibility of driving the country and economy will fall on the shoulders of young people. These are the major disadvantages of increased life span. In contrast, there are numerous advantages to have veterans around us. As these folks are more experienced than us, we can always get their opinion before finalizing a crucial decision. For example, my father was able to complete our new home on budget and time because of the valuable advice he took from my grandfather. The younger generation will also have the benefit of having a loved one around them. When my grandmother died, I was distressed and wished she could have lived longer. It is always difficult to say goodbye to the people we loved and we often think that we should have spent more time with them. This emphasizes the importance of having senior folks around us. We should always welcome the improvement in medical facilities as it has a positive impact on human beings. Even though there are certain demerits for increased life span, its advantages outweigh all of them.