Far too little has been done to prevent animals and plants from dying out. Why do people do so little about it? How can the problem be solved.

Many species of plants and animals have died out over the last few decades due to human activity and climate change. Most of the time, climate change leading to the extinction of wildlife is also a result of human activity; yet, humans are not doing much to save these flora and fauna. The main reason for this indifferent attitude is the lack of understanding of the way the ecosystem works. Creating awareness is the only solution. Humans are not doing anything to save wildlife because they are under the impression that the universe is created for them. They believe that other forms of life were created to benefit them. Consequently, they do not see any reason to protect them. They kill them for food and to satisfy their greed. For example, animals like tigers and crocodiles are killed for their skin. Elephants are killed for their tusks. Animals are also used in medical research and this causes permanent damage to them; yet, humans do not find anything morally wrong about this practice. Most people seem to be under the notion that if they are rich they can live comfortably on this planet even after all the plants and animals have died. Unfortunately, they do not realize that any disruption to the food chain will threaten their very existence. Creating awareness is the need of the hour. People should be sensitized about the damage they are doing to themselves by abusing wildlife. Right from primary school, children should be taught to respect and conserve all forms of life. Until we realize that we are threatening our own existence by allowing other forms of life to die we will have no motivation to act. In conclusion, human beings are not doing anything to save other forms of life because they do not see any value in it. Creating awareness is the only way to nudge them to act.