Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

It is generally accepted that we all require leisure time to recover from the hassle of works and everyday life. There are many ways individuals can spend their spare time. Few people believe the playing scrabble or reading a novel in free time is the best approach as it progresses mind, however, others believe that we should give rest to the brain. This essay will analyse both views before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, people relax by playing sports, watching movies, playing scrabble and so on. They say that these physical and mental activities serve as a tonic and refresh them to face new challenges. For instance, people who are largely involved in indoor work like Computer Operator or Radar Operator spent most of their time in front of a computer screen and for them to go outside in fresh air, stretching their muscles, playing sports in spare time could ease the workloads and reduces mental pressures. On the other hand, few people believe that it is good to give rest to mind then involving in mind games and other physical activities. They say that taking a power nap, relaxing on a rocking chair or spending sometimes at the beach as a silent observer would help them to energise their brain and to remain healthy. For instance, people who are involved in outdoor work like cargo loader, courier delivery and so on prefer to spend their leisure time relaxing on a sofa or bed. Although the above look is a solid evidence for both sides of the argument, I personally believe that it should be up to people to decide what is best for them in leisure time that can help them to relax and remain healthy.