Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

It is certainly understandable that government should start looking at ways of improving their public facilities to a sustainable development. Government have to make a real innovation in keeping the stability of the society, which means that people should get good service from their government. There was a statement said that government should utilise the money for public importance, and do not use this money for other things like arts (music and theatre). Personally, I disagree with that statement. In the following paragraphs, I will give my reasons to support my opinion. Nowadays, to face the period of development, as a country they have to compete with other countries. Arts can offer a positive contribution to the development of the quality of life as a country. I believe that each country has their ability then they can compete with the others. For example, recently there are some world competitions related to ‘singing’ such as World Choir Competition, ASIAN Idol, etc. Every country sends their best participants to follow the competition. Two years ago, Indonesian delegate taking part in World Choir Competition held on 15–17 March 2013 at Belgium. They have to compete with 57 countries, and finally, they got gold medals for several categories. In addition, I think that if a government invests some money to arts sector, it will create many advantages for the country itself. For instance, Indonesia has talented people in painting field, it means that they can make a beautiful creation to sale. One of popular painting is ‘Monalisa’ drawing. The Painting already became everlasting painting because it was drawn by the  talented person, which the painter already creates many advantages for himself and his country. Another essential thing is people have to make a good teamwork with the government to produce huge advantages related to arts creations. In conclusion, the government should invest some money to improve arts creation because it has a big opportunity to make a country more successful.