Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a debated issue whether it is useful or disavantageous for the younger generation to partake in gainful employment. There are many pros and cons in allowing children engage in paid jobs. In my opinion, the drawbacks outweighs its benefits. Children are assumed to be in their formative stage and exposure to certain work environment is likely to be a threat to there upbringing. They mostly tend to live by what they see and learn from it. For instance, Letting a child work in liquor stores or bars, may eventually make the child start drinking at a young age. Therefore, when children are left to work for money, they may end up in places that are not safe for their development. Also, at an early stage, education should be a fundamental requirement of every child. All other things such as jobs should be secondary in a childs life. To clarify, times spent studying are crucial to every young child and prepares them to face the labour force. Finally, when kids start make money, they will have no proper knowledge of how well to spend or save their income. On the other hand, most people hold that kids should be left to take up paid jobs so as to help with family responsibilities. To illustrate, in third world Countries like Nigeria, kids are seen helping their parents with petty trading and street hawking. This is a way of assisting with finances in the family. In addition, most individuals believe that children working at a younger stage gives them a better insight of jobs to take up when they eventually grow up. For example, taking up a job at a tender age gives one prior knowledge and experience about the job. Therefore, they find it crucial that children start partaking in paid jobs to enable them make choices in future. To put in a nutshell, I pen down saying that children engaging in paid jobs have both benefits and drawbacks but the drawbacks outweigh the benfits.