Some believe that people should not continue to work once they reach the age of retirement.

It is a debated issue whether workers should retain their jobs or retire from service once they attain their termination age. I partly agree that people should retire from their work once they are of age with the following reasons. Aged individuals are assumed to occupy space for the younger generation in the workforce. When the labour market is saturated with people who are of retirement age there is little or no vacancy for young school leavers. A relevant study shows that nations like Japan, who retain the aged for a longer time have more unemployed youths. Therefore, the work force is devoid of fresh ideas from youngsters. Also, ageing is accompanied with weakness and various ailments. To illustrate, Jobs which require standing or taking a particular posture for a long time might not be suitable for the old because most of them have one health issue or the other. For this reason, they are discontinued form woking. In contast, as one does a particular vocation for a long time, experience is gained. Most companies find it very difficult to retire their aged staff because of their knowledge about the job. For instance, In Japan, staff are trained and retained for years and it is quite tough to let go of such experienced staff. Thus, individuals are left to work even when they attain termination age. In addition, incomes generated while working at old age becomes handy for the aged. They aslo have various needs which requires to be sorted out. In order wards, they need to work to make ends meet. In conclusion, i am of the opinion that aged people should be allowed to work so as to share useful experience with the younger ones and also to enable them meet their financial needs through wages that are being paid. Also, more job opportunities should be available to the younger generation too.