Some people think that international car free- day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this.

Environmental pollution is a major concern in today’s society. While few people believe international car-free day could mitigate air pollution and others argue that there are more productive ways, in my opinion, there are various other ways to alleviate these issues. On the one hand, celebrating world car-free day would not only curb pollution to some extent but it also encourages people to identify various other means of transport. People who have not tried the public transport would experience it and they would get to know the comfort in using them. Besides, the roads which are congested due to heavy traffic would deteriorate making the commuters easy to travel. Apart from this, it not only decreases car accidents but it also increases social interaction among individuals. Moreover, the physical activity among masses increases helping them improve the health and well-being of residents. Subsequently, the air and noise pollution can be controlled. On the other hand, there are various other factors to arrest the air pollution. The government should encourage people to use the renewable resources like solar instead of fuel, if sustained, improve the quality of air. Besides, to attract more and more commuters, the officials should reduce the fares of public transport so that the usage of private vehicles diminishes. Moreover, the government should stop permissions to build any more industries as the poisonous gases released from them pollute the nature. Also, the officials should make periodic checks on these industries and impose heavy fines or cancellation of the contract for those not abiding the rules. Seen in this light, all these factors contribute in controlling the air pollution. In conclusion, although few people argue that world car-free day could control air pollution and few of them debate there are other ways; I believe various other factors sum up in curbing the air pollution.