Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this.

Some people argue that by declaring a global car-free day, the negative effects of air pollution could be limited. Another school of thought suggests that there are other preventive measures and actions that might have more positive results. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and explain why I tend to agree with the latter. To start with the positive effects that an international car-free day might have on reducing the air pollution, the obvious result of such an action would be the reduction of greenhouse gasses, with less harmful gasses emitted from the exhaust pipes of vehicles. With an overwhelming majority of automobiles around the world using fossil fuels, this is indeed a big step towards limiting air pollution and related health issues. In addition, people could be more inclined to use public transport or even nonmotorized vehicles in their day-to-day life as a result of this. On the other hand, lots of other people believe that this could only be a temporary solution to an immense problem, which requires lots of other preventive measures in order to be dealt with. Such preventive measures include the use of renewable energy sources such as solar and wind energy, as well as incentivizing the use of electric vehicles. Other solutions could be the use of biodegradable materials in packaging of goods and less use of pesticides in farming, which causes lots of pollutants to leak into soil and eventually into the water systems. Regulated landfills is another solution in addition to those mentioned previously. In conclusion, while it is a step in the right direction, I don't believe that an international car-free day is the most effective solution to the problem and I think personally that, lots of other measures should be taken to preserve biodiversity and reduce air pollution around the globe.