Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways do to this.

A variety of human activities in urban areas which result in gas emissions has been a serious environmental problem nowadays. Hence, its best solution is uncertain whether a world car-free day can be the most appropriate way to cut air pollution or not and there are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss here. On the one hand, a car-free zone can lower pollutants in the air effectively as car emissions are the main source of this issue in big cities. For instance, most people in Jakarta use private transportation as a mode of their daily transport, with the result that they have polluted the air. It is often said that city dwellers have been depending on vehicles to move, to travel or to go to work, so that the air quality in the cities is very poor and unhealthy. Another reason is this action or policy can raise awareness of drivers or riders to give up their automobile when they pass a short route. Citizens, therefore, cycle or walk if these are possible to be done in a certain distance such as shopping. Moreover, people can be educated to maintain a healthy lifestyle by walking or cycling in a car-free day. On the other hand, the consumption of renewable energy in the factories is a proper manner to create the healthy air quality now that cars or motorcycles are not only source as dangerous gasses or toxic substances in the atmosphere and even chemicals from factories play a crucial role in air pollution, For instance, the coal-fire power plant. This activity has been concerned in the 21st century since more and more Industries consume the burning of fossil fuel and emit particulates into the Earth's atmosphere. To conclude, a car-free day is one of the proper ways to solve the problem of air pollution and also that is able to teach healthy lives to cities’ societies. However, using the alternative energy is the best way to reduce the gaseous air pollutants because of gases from factories.