University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

A growing number of students are opting foreign country for their tertiary studies. Although there are various benefits of studying abroad, such as getting high pay salary when they return to their home country and getting a chance to settle down in abroad, there are few drawbacks i. e. expensive education along with difficult living conditions. In my opinion studying abroad opens new avenue and certainly outweigh the disadvantage. The first advantage of studying abroad is that the foreign qualified individuals while coming back to their home country often gets high remuneration jobs. This is because the local employers believe that the quality of education is far better in abroad. So, to attract them, they offer higher pay. For example, a recent study of global consultancy E & Y suggested that in 2018 the average annual salary of foreign qualified graduates was 60% higher than local university graduates. Another benefit of studying abroad is that the majority of the countries offer permanent residency to the international students and subsequently citizenship after spending a few more years. Thus making more favourable option for international student to study abroad. On the other hand, studying in a foreign land would cost an individual much higher. To elaborate this, a student needs to pay full tuition fees, accommodation charges and flight cost which eventually will cost him more For instance, one recent study suggest that the average cost of two years master program in one of the famous study destination Australia is 90, 000 Australian dollars, which is more expensive than if one study in his home country. In addition, living far away from home is also quite challenging as one can easily feel home-sickness and one has to do all his work like cooking, laundry and cleaning toilets which most of the individuals does not do in their home country. For this reason, the majority of the students become reluctant to go abroad. In conclusion, University students are increasingly studying abroad as their part of the studies. While there are various problem studying in overseas universities like higher cost and hectic living conditions, but the advantages like higher salary in their native country and chances of obtaining permanent residence and citizenship will motivate them to pursue their tertiary education in a foreign land.