Some people think that in order to protect the environment, we should reduce air travel.

There has been considerable debate on the environmental impact of aviation. It is sometimes suggested that air travel should be reduced in order to protect the environment. In my opinion, despite some advantages it brings about, I somewhat advocate this suggestion. To begin with, it goes without saying that air travel holds a numbers of benefits over car, train, ship travel. For long hauls such as transoceanic flight, air travel is unquestionably the fastest way to get to your destination. Whereas, travelling by ship might take one week in comparison with hours offered by plane, which means this costs you more time and poses some drawbacks especially in business. Another benefit is that passengers often feel more comfortable when they use services offered by airlines rather than other alternatives. For example, they can stretch their legs during the trip or can be provided free beverage, which makes the travel more enjoyable. Nevertheless, there should be no doubt that air travelling is one of the biggest contributions to environment pollution. Since aircraft engines emit a huge amount of carbon dioxide, noise, greenhouse gases into the Earth's atmosphere, they inevitably result in the acceleration of global warming. In addition to gases released from combustion engines, gases emissions from ground airport activities, for example, the manufacture of aircraft or the construction of airport infrastructure, also lead to global warming that mainly causes the climate change these days. If people fly less, the environment will be protected. In conclusion, aviation obviously provide much comfort for the passengers when they travel, however, it also adversely affect our environment. Therefore until an eco-friendly air transportation options are available, I recommend we should cut back on air travel in order to protect our planet