The air we breathe has a major impact on our health and the environment. However, the air pollution is constantly growing and at current levels it can be fought only globally. That is to say, individual efforts to improve air quality will not give any results, and it's solely responsibility of our governments to reduce air pollution.

In the last decades the level of the pollution of the air is increasing following a very dangerous trend. It is argued that only a massive action from all the governments around the world could change the current situation that is negatively affecting people’s health and the environment, on a global scale. I completely agree with this opinion. First of all, even if it is very important to engage people’s around the world consciousness, only a systematic change of the actual economic mode of production can save the planet. The economy is one of the biggest part of every country’s political focus. In other words, only governments can impose to industries and factories a revolutionary and green way of production. For instance, scientific reports attest that the transportation by flights is one of the activities that pollute the air the most. In this particular case, as in many others, only a common and global agreement can change the disruptive trend. For example, reducing private flights and promoting environmentally friendly ways of moving. Furthermore, the air pollution is not a local problem. The level of pollution of the atmosphere doesn’t recognize countries’ geopolitical boundaries. On the contrary, it affects all the corners of the earth. Once the planet is destroyed by someone, even if he or she lives in another continent, it is gone for all. As a matter of fact, if only few states around the world commit themselves in a massive action to clean the air, their efforts would be useless if the closest country doesn’t do the same. In conclusion, I strongly believe that in order to save the planet earth every governments should take part in a global action.