Some people think that in order to protect the environment, we should reduce air travel.

Many people have been increasingly concerned about the harmful effects of the increasing volume air transport. I strongly agree that we should reduce air travel in order to safeguard the environment. To begin with, the increasing demand for air travel has significantly contributed to environmental damage and global warming. Compared to other modes of transport, such as cars or trains, planes account for the highest level of carbon dioxide emissions released to the atmosphere. In effect, the huge increase in air pollution, with bad effects on human and animal health, is significantly due to the rapid growth in air transport. What is more, exhaust fumes from planes are also the greatest source of greenhouse gases leading to global warming and climate change which are perhaps the greatest threat to life on earth. There are those who argue, however, that air travel is essential for global commerce and business people. They point out that in such case passengers cannot depend on other means of transport and the benefits of travelling by air are indisputable. Nonetheless, it is my belief that such alternatives as teleconferencing can reduce the need for business flights. In addition, advocates of the aviation industry claim that a number of measures have been being taken to reduce the amount of carbon emissions by modern aircraft. However, the potential for eco-friendly flying looks rather limited because of the huge time, cost and coordinated effort needed to bring it about. It is therefore an impractical solution for the immediate and urgent problem of reducing pollution and climate change. Taking these points into consideration, I agree that there should be reduction in the use of air traveling if human beings want to avoid destroying the environment in which they live.