Many people believe that it is important to protect the environment, but they make no effort to protect it themselves. Why do you think it is the case? What actions do you think that individuals can do to protect the environment?

It seems to be an increasingly widespread concerned that every individuals should take steps to curb the climate change but no one give top priority to improve their environment. In this essay, I will discuss some of the main cause of this problem and offer some possible solution for it. There are several reasons why people do not spare effort to protect environment. Firstly, citizens have a tendency to believe that Government and large firms should responsible for preserving the environment. This is because most of toxics in the atmosphere stem from organizations which discharge pollutants into the environment. Thus, only government has enough condition to enact law to prevent this action. Moreover, due to the industrial development has brought many benefits for people so most of them do not want to change. For example, people prefer to use cars or motorbike, which is run on fossil fuels and release major carbon into atmosphere, to commute than bicycle and public transports. In order to make people give top priority to protect their air quality, government must first address its roots cause. The first solution is that local authorities should offer programs to raise the public’s low-carbon awareness. They should encourage citizens exploit renewable energies such as wind, hydro and solar power or take public transit, carpool or fuel-efficient vehicles in order to enhance air condition. Furthermore, Companies should invest in energy-saving technologies. Indeed, they can produce such products environment-friendly to substitute thrown-away items or plastic bags. Therefore, people’s lifestyle also changes to adapt to environment-friendly. In conclusion, this problem is unlikely to be tackled in the short-term. However, it is by no means insurmountable and I am convinced that more people will attend to government policies to protect our lives.