Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems.

The environment has been badly affected by the effects of human activities and associated technology. Some people argue that we should lead simpler lives to reduce environmental problems, while others believe these problems can be dealt with by using modern technology. This essay will discuss both views and draw a final conclusion. On the one hand, living simpler lives could be an effective solution to environmental issues. If people do not depend excessively on technological advances such as motor vehicles and aircraft, environmental problems like noise and air pollution or air pollution will be reduced. As a matter of fact, a generation ago, the environment was in better condition without modern transportation. There is no doubt that motor vehicle emissions are a major cause of atmospheric pollution. In the past, people traveled on foot or used animals for transport, without using fossil fuels which are a cause of much pollution. Moreover, leading simpler lives means that humans will not consume such a variety of products, resulting in less industrial pollution from factories and power plants. Furthermore, with fewer industrial zones, there which be a reduction in river and land pollution, contributing to a greener and fresher environment. Despite less dependence on technology might seem a good solution, in some cases, modern technology could help to tackle environmental problems. Thanks to the technological development, new ways of protecting the environment can be discovered and developed. For example, nowadays, people are able to exploit sources of renewable energy such as wind and solar power which cause no harm to the environment. Moreover, the increase in recycling waste turns garbage into new uses which benefit people’s lives. For instance, millions of bottles are recycled each year and this helps reduce the amount of rubbish accumulated on the land. In conclusion, advanced technologies have environmental advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, people should employ technology wisely to diminish its harmful effects on the environment.