Some people think that having people from different nationalities and cultural background living together in the same country makes the country develop faster. Do you agree?

Having a multi ethnic community in a country is considered as a key factor which affects the success of a country. However, I strongly disagree with this statement as there are plenty of examples in the world where the existence of multi-cultural people has become a hindrance towards the prosperity of a country. Firstly, due to the political and religious influences, people of different races tend to be separate from each other and fight for their rights and these arguments may lead the countries into civil wars. For example, Sri Lanka faced a dreadful war for more than thirty years with a Tamil terrorist group. The terrorist group demanded a separate land from Sri Lanka to form a separate country for Tamil people. Although, Sri Lanka used to be the most developed country in South Asia in 1970s, the country ended up being an under developed country as a result of the war. Additionally, the separation of Pakistan from India due to the disagreement between Hindu and Muslim people also can be considered as a significant instance where India was the most powerful country in Asia. Secondly, even though, the relationships between countries may have better impacts towards the development of countries, there is no notable contribution from the people of country as separate cultural groups. Ethnical differences promote the culture of a country but do not support the commercial development of a country. In conclusion, I believe that a country will be prosperous only if the citizens work together as one nation despite their cultural, religious differences.