Some people think that having a set of retirement age (e. g 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

It is argued that a certain age should be agreed for retirement of senior citizens in respective of their jobs and some senior citizens should be allowed to retire and receive their pensions earlier. This essay would agree that senior workers in certain jobs should be allowed to retire earlier and would discuss the type of workers that are eligible for early retirement. Firstly, ageing is part of life and most times senior workers have paid their dues after working for years. As they grow older what comes easily and naturally to them would be a bit difficult. For instance, jobs like factory workers, craftsmen, welders would not be opportune to handle the equipments the way they use to. In addition, I believe that workers in this sector should have the option of retiring at 50years and should have access to their pensions. For example, research has shown that 70% of factory workers can’t carry and use the equipment they were able to use in their younger years. The types of workers that this scheme would be beneficial to are workers like craftsmen, factory workers, labourers and people that feel they have worked enough to retire. Most of the workers in this category tend to age fast because of the physical work they tend to do and the force they expend daily. The other category are people who are volunteering to retire due to the fact that they are tired or one health challenge or the other. For example, Mr Akin on my street, decided to retire early because he developed partial blindness due to sawdust after working for 35 years as a factory worker. Another example is, recent study shows that the labourers that clear the field and tend the garden of Richards company most of them cannot walk straight because of hours spent clearing the fields for years. To conclude, while ageing is part of life, senior workers should be given the option to decide when they would love retire and their pensions paid according. Also note and some jobs are more demanding physically than others.