Some people think that governments should spend money on Railways. Others believe that there should be more investment Indu new roads. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Since the invention of the first locomotive to date, there has been continuous development in railway technology with better and faster trains being developed over time. At present, many people put forward their opinion in the favour of government's spending of a larger amount of budget on the railways in contrast to the roadways. Supporting the statement, I believe that government should develop new railway lines and improve the existing condition of railways that will solve many of the transportation-related problems of the modern-day. Firstly, the railway is one of the best means of transportation in the modern world that allows commuters to travel long distances relatively fast and safely that demands the need for extension and upgrading of the railways. Obviously, trains are faster than roadway transport means like cars and buses, and trains are reliable and safer than roadway vehicles as fewer cases of railway accidents have been reported, unlike road accidents that are more frequent. Furthermore, with increased urbanization, the cities around the globe are getting densely populated that, eventually, is leading to an increased number of vehicles on the roads followed by serious problems like traffic congestion and fatal road accidents. In this context, enhancing railway transport can ensure the commuting of a relatively larger number of people, resulting in a reduction in the number of vehicles on the road that consequently mitigates the road accidents and traffic Jams. In conclusion, though roadways have been the dominant mode of transport till the present day, today's transportation needs to be efficient, faster and more reliable that can be well-served by the modern railways. Therefore, the government should consider allocating more budget for the railways as an alternative to the obsolete roadway transport.