Many university students do part-time work while studying at university. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that the vast majority of college students have to opt part time jobs to support their miscellaneous tuition fees while finishing their degree. In my opinion, this is clearly a negative trend as students waste a lot of time doing unskilled jobs, which otherwise could be utilised in learning essential skills in the school. Those who opine that doing part time jobs along with pursuing university education is beneficial, can easily point out to its invaluable experience. That is to say, the side jobs not only help students to pay their massive tuition fees, but also aids them with unique real-life experience, which is essentially required for the growth and development of the career. For Instance, according to the research conducted by the University of British Columbia, part time jobs are advantageous for the international students as it teaches them about the different culture, language and religion, resulting in their better relationships with the people of the host country. Despite having advantages, working part time while pursuing university education has various negative impacts on the student’s life. Firstly, it becomes very difficult for students to complete assignments and exams because they spend most of their time working, instead of concentrating on their school education. Thus, they end up getting low grade, which definitely affects their future career. Secondly, a majority of part time jobs are unskilled due to the fact that, all skilled jobs required either a bachelor’s degree or an experience in the relevant field. To exemplify, according to The New York Times, around 90% of the school students are working as a housekeeper, to support their higher studies. To conclude, most university students work part time to support their tuition fees or to gain a real time experience. However, their inability to focus on the school education for the sake of unskilled jobs, makes me feel that this trend is mainly negative.