Some people think that governments should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investment into new roads.

It is an undeniable fact that transportation infrastructure plays a pivotal role in the development of a country. While some concede to the view that governments should invest its financial resources on building new roads, I argue with those who consider that these funds should be funded on bolstering railway projects. Firstly, investments made in building newer and better roads will provide the benefit of last mile connectivity. This is because roads are proposed way of connecting remote areas with the mainland. For Instance, The Prime Minister Rural Road Development program, India aims at linking villages and towns to the national highway with the purpose of providing better connectivity enabling easy transfer of raw materials, food, livestock and other necessary items. In addition, new and well-built roads reduces the travel time which can be an imperative factor during the time of emergency. However, I believe that railways should be funded because of its cost-effectiveness service providing capabilities. Trains are capable of doing long hauls where massive loads of cargo is being pulled by a single locomotive, thus allowing the transportation costs levied on these goods to be generally lower than those of their counterparts, which are transported via road. Moreover, most of the trains are designed to be hybrid in nature where they utilize the energy generated by the engine to power up the electrical systems onboard. For example, the newly developed Train-18 from Indian Railways is India’s first indigenously built engine-less locomotive which completely runs on the self-propelled drive shafts powered by regenerative electrical energy, which makes it fuel efficient and reliable alternative to traditional diesel-powered engines. In contrast, if funding is not provided is not provided by the authorities, inventions of these sort cannot be made, thus hindering the growth of a nation. In conclusion, although roads play a mojor role in providing better connectivity to most parts of the country, I believe railway inventions and projects should be actively provided government funding as railways holds the potential of providing low cost transportation facilties, which is crucial for majority of the nations.