Some people think that government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think that supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Government funds are contributed by the people of the country by way of taxes, contributions, donations. They have a say in whether or not such funds need to be utilized for supporting and encouraging Art and Culture. In my opinion, a portion of government funds may be utilized for cultural and art activities which I would elaborate in detail below. Some feel that the funds should not be used for Art and Culture, as they can be better utilized when there is a need or a national emergency. For example, In case of the recent Glacier burst in Uttarakhand, many villages were destroyed with colossal damages, around 100-150 people are missing. The funds could be then used for providing relief to such villages and in placing the lost people. Moreover the money can be used for developing the hampered villages. There are people who strongly feel that supporting art and culture activities would help the public in general and also benefit in keeping our culture relevant. Art and Culture contributes chunks of money into our economy. They have a huge influence on the current youth population such as fashion trends, social media influencers, marketing products, traditional artifacts. Artists promote certain products to enhance the product viability and sales. Many advertisers sponsor certain events and cultural activities to grow and market their business. Many of the regional artifacts, imitation jewelry displayed at Kala Ghoda Festival are inspired from different states and regions. This festival is usually sponsored by Radio Channels, State Tourism companies, Famous Fashion Designers, Crossword book store. To conclude, even though monetary funds should be used for national emergencies, there is a need to support art and cultural activities for the economic advantage as well. Hence, I think government funds need to be divided in a proportionate manner to benefit the people of our country in general.