Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. with this opinion?

The allocation of and judicious expenditure of public funds is a lingering topical issue for governments around the world today. Although I agree that it is important to spend money on public services, I do not think money spent on the arts is a useless venture. There are several reasons for spending government funds on social amenities such as roads, hospitals and schools. Firstly, the provision of good roads, top quality hospitals and sound schools (amongst many others) makes for a good standard of living. Good roads that enable quick delivery of perishable food items from rural areas, sound hospitals that provide top quality and affordable tertiary healthcare and nice schools for proper education of the populace are just a few contributory factors to a high quality of life. Furthermore, proper allocation of public funds in an equitable manner towards public services in areas that were once deprived discourages the rising of social conflicts. If any part of a society feels left out, it could lead to internal wrangling and major conflicts, if not civil wars. However, despite the overt importance of spending public funds on providing public services, there are still some benefits of spending on the arts. The need to preserve cultural heritage is one major reason. This could be achieved by sponsoring festivals that display works of arts indigenous to a people, and it go some way in promoting tourism and consequently improving the GDP. The Cannes Film Festival, for instance, is a popular annual event held in France to promote their local movie productions and it is one that attracts a large number of tourists. Moreover, music festivals and theatre shows are a huge source of social relief from stress for most youths. Spending some government money to keep these shows going on would contribute a lot to the mental and social aspects of their health, keeping them productive rather than destructive. To sum up, there are obvious benefits of ensuring a greater portion of public funds go into providing public services as this influences the quality of our lives. Having said that, I do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of valuable resources as this too provides necessary benefits.