Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally.

The issue with the environment is constantly at the top of the list of most discussed topics recently. The approach to rectify this problem has also turned into a polarising topic, some argue for the globalist approach, while others prefer it to be handled by individual countries. This essay will discuss the argument for both points of view, but agree that an international collusion will best handle the problem. Several eminent environmentalist argue for all nations to solve the challenges of our environment under one umbrella. Proponents of this idea, always to the uneven distribution of wealth among nations. The fact of the matter is that, not all countries possess the financial muscle to withstand the negative economic impact of instituting environmental policies. For instance, Nigerian foreign exchange is dominated by crude oil export, it is there for apparent that putting restrictions on the use of fuel will be devastating to the economy and stock market. Therefore, it is proposed that economically buoyant nations should ne of assistance to third world countries. However, other relevant professionals subscribe to a more nationalistic approach. Environmental issues are not generalized, in fact, it is different from one country to another. For example, some areas are afflicted with the problem of desert encroachment, while some suffer from rising ocean level that in turn leads to flooding. Therefore, individual nations will diagnose and address problems with their environment efficiently. Despite this, nations still require an international organisation to monitor their commitment and curb any corruption. In conclusion, this essay discussed the benefit of both approaches. In my opinion, there should be cooperation among nations, so that, wealthy nations will be of help to poorer countries.