In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, People are more interested in holding fashionable wedding ceremonies and they spend a big amount of money for celebrating their marriage parties, while it was totally different in the past. In my opinion, this trend can be seen as both negative and positive developments. Firstly, the families tries to show their wealth, authority and fame to the other people. By spending money on expensive decorations and by the preparing variety of food items to the guests. Let's take an example a rich family from South Africa organized their son’s marriage near the beaches of Cape Town in 2001. This wedding generated enormous amounts of waste and resulted in the death of many sea animals which consumed the waste items thinking they were food. The government also had to spend huge amounts of money to clean up the garbage. On the other hand, there are a few positive aspects of having the huge weddings. One of them is that they can create jobs for local people or help to grow the local businesses. For example, India’s richest person, Mr. Ambani spent around 100 million dollars on his daughter’s wedding. This big wedding created around 20, 000 jobs. They also invited local businesses to produce handicrafts and ethnic clothing items that could be given away as presents to invitees. Thus, having a big marriage event does have some positive outcomes. To conclude, bigger and expensive weddings do benefit the economy in some way. However, in my opinion, the environmental damage they cause is too serious to be overlooked and hence, this practice should be discouraged.