Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action.

In recent decades, the environment has become a major concern around the world as our planet will face the devastating consequences of global warming in the near future. Although it is undoubtedly the government’s responsibility to take action, individuals need to make a contribution to deal with this pressing problem as well. It is certainly undeniable that environmental problems cannot be solved without the role of the government. First, governments have more power than individuals in coping the geoengineering. They can, for instance, set up laws that ban the emission of wastes from factory directly into the air and watercourses in order to mitigate contamination. Second, only governments can have sufficient funds and resources to invest in projects or programmes fighting against climate change. Since some communities are already experiencing tragic consequences due to changes in climate over a short period of time, the governments have planned in advancing the large-scale infrastructure – such as building defences to protect against sea-level rise or improving the quality of road surfaces to withstand hotter temperatures. It must also be acknowledged that individuals also play a vital role in saving our planet. First, the actions of an individual may seem minor, however, the cumulative effect of everyone taking such actions would be enormous. For example, if each citizen makes an effort to live a more eco-friendly life by participating in greening, clean commuting, reducing, reusing and recycling, the pollution issues would be reduced substantially. Second, without the environmental awareness and support of individuals, government’s policies wouldn’t succeed as the authorities cannot control every personal action ruining the environment. In fact, many forest fires were caused by the ignorance of an individual, which exacerbate environmental problems. In conclusion, governments certainly are the key players with responsibility to care for our planet. Nonetheless, preserving the environment requires individuals and governments to take steps to make the necessary changes having a significant impact on our future.