Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action.

Environmental problems have dramatically increased over the last few years. A rapid increase in population and other problems such as pollution, deforestation, global warming etc. have further exacerbated the situation. Some people argue that these problems are too large to be addressed by an individual being. I believe that it is a mutual responsibility of both individuals and countries to take pragmatic measures for its solution. Overpopulation is one of the pivotal reasons that have detrimental effects on the environment. Increase in population demand more food resources, living space and other basic amenities of life. For instance, for the sake of accommodation many natural parks and forests have been wiped out to fulfil the need for living space. This has lead to severe consequences that could damage both the people and the environment. Individual efforts can contribute a lot to address the pressing environmental problems. Steps taken at an individual level can be an effective solution for the world. For instance, if the government of a country takes initiatives to reduce the rubbish produced daily, can’t do much. However, if the citizens take effort from their personal level, rubbish production could be controlled tremendously. Similarly, if the administration of a country starts planting trees, the effort would not go further without the collaboration of the individuals. Pollution is also a great menace to the environment. It is not only the reason of environmental problems but also has a dire effect on people. Factories operating within cities emit dangerous smoke and other harmful toxins, which are enormously affecting people health and making them more susceptible to diseases. Furthermore, pollution also contributes to global warming. There has been a drastic increase in temperature around the globe, which in turn, melts glaciers across the world. These are no longer national issues and all the governments of the world should work together to address this pressing problem. That is why prudent decisions are required from the government level and the ordinary citizens should be encouraged and participate in every way possible to make the world a better place to live in. To sum up, I would like to say that environmental problems should be addressed on a large scale. Everyone has to contribute in order to mitigate its vulnerable effects on the world. Even a little effort by an individual can make a huge difference.