Newspapers have an enormous influence on people’s opinions and ideas. Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

Newspapers are one the oldest source of information regarding current events before the invention of the radio, television and the internet. It has a huge influence in people's opinions and ideas. But without the ability of the people to cross-reference what is written in the news, we tend to believe that all are facts. Newspapers have a positive and negative effect on its readers. If we will study history, we will find out that newspapers were once used for propagandas during World War II. As a result, many people were brainwashed and believed what they were reading in the news were accurate. Some of the newspapers also come with inappropriate articles and images that might harm the children that will read it without their parents’ consent. While there are negatives effects, I believe that there are more effects on the positive side as there are lots of credible newspapers that are circulating worldwide. Aside from the regular local and world current events, readers can check the newspaper the weather for the day. A businessman can also see current stock market rates while sports enthusiast can check the results of their favourite games be it basketball, baseball, football, etc. Job searchers can also look on job openings and employers can easily advertise their job vacancies. And lastly, people will be up to date and entertained at the same time with the addition of entertainment sections. With the emergence of the internet and the age of social media is becoming more popular, the popularity of the newspapers has been affected by it. But nothing can beat the newspaper as one of the leading source of information and entertainment, especially, for the people who do not have access to computers.