Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country’s success, while others think that there are other factors which can be used to measure a country’s success. What are these factors? Which, of all factors, do you think are most important?

The economic growth rate is used by many countries to compare the success of nations. But there are other aspects to consider to measure the quality of life in a country. However, to my mind, economic progress is the most important factor, representing the potential of nations. Other than economic progress, there are some factors indicating the rate of prosperity on a national level. The crime rate is one of those metrics and provides an overall impression of a country's policy on the law. Another indicator for measuring a country's success could be the average life expectancy of the population. So that is to say, the longer people live, the more successful a country can be. Next crucial point that plays a role in a country's success is environment-related. Countries are becoming more ecology-conscious and implementing greener technologies and practices into an economy. That is why the pollution rate, another factor to take into account, is on the agenda of nations that want to be the next success stories. The economy affects every walks of life and works the same in almost everywhere. This accompanies with employment, income and is directly related to the quality of life in a nation. Therefore, countries making a great deal of economic progress can easily handle other pressing issues such as unemployment, the high crime rate and dependency on fossil fuels. To conclude, economic growth is a common way to measure a nation’s development. But there are other alternatives to economic progress such as the crime, pollution rates and life expectancy. However, economic progress is a more important factor than others.