Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities. Others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

There is an opinion that students with the same aptitude should be taught together. Some people, however, disagree, saying that mixed-ability classes are better. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, placing students with different abilities in one group promotes teamwork and understanding. Being exposed to people with the same background, students do not learn to collaborate and resolve conflicts, which are vital skills to have in the real world because encompasses a wide diversity of people with different skills and interests. Division based on academic achievement is therefore likely to result in lack of skills necessary for students to succeed in the future, thus rendering outstanding academic knowledge inapplicable in reality. On the other hand, grouping students with the same aptitude is beneficial for teachers as they can save time preparing materials and grading them, which results in their improved well-being and job satisfaction. Additionally, this approach is not conducive to academic success of the less gifted. Despite the fact that in a mixed-ability classroom stronger students might sometimes be perceived as role models whose example should be followed, the overwhelming majority of weaker students in such classes are bound to be discouraged from investing effort into school work as they are unlikely to surpass the stronger ones anyway. In conclusion, I believe scholastic aptitude is the criterion that education should be based on since it results in saved time and effort for teachers as well as increased chance of academic success for weaker students. While the opposite approach does enhance students’ collaborative and conflict resolution skills, I am of the opinion that these are not what schools should focus on.