Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital.

Some individuals argue that imprisonment is an appropriate punishment for drug addicts whereas others agree that they need to be helped and treated as sick people. I believe they should be treated well like a patient who needs to be cured. On the one hand, dealing with addicts like the other criminal cases is to enforce applicable laws. Drugs are prohibited in almost all countries so when someone uses drugs, they will be judged immediately by the law. For instance, In Indonesia, heroin abusers may be sentenced for 15 years in jail, even if this is not a violent act or an offense that affects people, such as murder and theft, the rule nevertheless extends to the police. However, I convinced that in such case they still have a psychological problem that should be taken into consideration. On the other hand, treating them like people who need to be cured is a better action to consider human being's aspects. Drug addicts may not be well educated, so they tend to use drugs when suffering from depression and anxiety as the one and only way to relive or having no a good social support system attracting them to become heroin users. For this reason, addicts in Australia are not automatically committed to the jail, but instead referred to a rehabilitation center to alleviate their abuse and also to the hospital where there is serious discomfort related to drug use. In conclusion, although giving a prison sentence to addicts is already written in the law in several countries, understanding them as human beings who actually need help to recover from drug addiction is one of the best choices that can be made by the government.