Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it that by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it?

Today, an increasing number of travelling programmes are being televised to show the different types of cultures around the world. People sometimes believe that it is enough watching these productions instead of visiting the country to know more about it. Personally, I partly agree with this assertion since there is a range of unexplored details that could not be seen on any television documentary. There is no doubt that you can learn such a great deal of information from a travelling programme or a documentary about a country without leaving your house. Nowadays, these kind of programmes manages helpful information where you can discover a brief summary of the history of a place and about their diverse culture such as rituals and ancient traditions. Moreover, they show you the story behind the main attractions or places that you must know. For instance, I have learned a lot about Carnival festivals which are celebrated annually in Rio de Janeiro thanks to televised shows. Nevertheless, there is countless experiences that you can obtain by visiting a country. I am convinced that travelling and speaking with inhabitants makes you understand and appreciate better other cultures. In addition, another reason is that you may have the chance to do walking tours to visit amazing unpopular places. Moreover, there is a great opportunity to try national dishes or live special experiences like eating particular meals or doing extreme sports like bungee jumping. All things considered, I strongly believe that television can help us all to know about distinct areas and regions on Earth. However, there are still undiscovered secrets that you may miss if you do not personally visit the place. My suggestion is that if you want to learn about another country, you should plan to visit and live your own experience.