Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

The topic of whether prosperous countries are more responsible for environmental issues such as climate change or all states should make an equal effort to protect ecology is a double-edged sword. This essay will analyze both sides of the argument and I will provide my view. On the one hand, first-world countries have far more manufacturing plants and vehicles that are not environmentally friendly and are responsible for the lion‘s share of overall pollution in the world. According to a recently conducted study of Harvard University, developed countries are responsible for 70% of all greenhouse gas emissions and nuclear waste. More than that, prosperous states have both financial and technological resources to tussle the climate change. They can invent various types of green-energy technologies and efficiently implement them thus minimizing the effects of climate change. Obviously, prosperous nations should be worried more about ecology and do their best to prevent environmental problems. On the other hand, first-world countries alone cannot successfully combat climate change because they represent a tiny portion among all states, so similar efforts should be made across the world to make a real difference. For instance, if some polluting mills are closed in Europe, it hardly precludes climate change in other parts of the world. Besides that, all countries have equal rights therefore should equally take care for our planet. Claiming that developed states are the sole ones to take action sounds like a discrimination. Furthermore, due to low development level, poor nations have a huge amount of inefficient and pernicious for ecology factories. This is why many people suffer from different diseases directly related to the environment. So it is in their best interest to fight against climate change and not wait until other nations do something about it. To sum up, I feel only cooperative efforts of all countries will help prevent climate change.