Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

Some argue that the wealthy nations of the world have a bigger responsibility in addressing climate change whereas, others think that it is equally the responsibility of a developing country as any developed country. I completely agree that the advanced economies of the world should do more to address global warming and change in climate as they are the major contributors to the problem and developing countries can only do a little because of resource constraints. Historically, the rich and the wealthy countries of the world, have been the major culprit in greenhouse gas emissions. Rapid industrialisation resulted in significant air pollution and environmental destruction resulting in rising global temperatures and melting polar ice-caps. Hence, it is their moral responsibility to do more in fighting the climate change and expecting rising and poor economies to share their problem is far from right. For example, the biggest contributors to global warming has been the US and the western Europe and rising economies like India and China have negligible contributions to the problem. Secondly, tackling climate change in an expensive affair. Switching over to renewable sources of energy and eco-friendly industries needs technological expertise and financial resources. Hence, expecting low and middle income countries to pitch in especially at time, when they are facing other bigger challenges such as poverty, malnutrition and unemployment is unfair. In addition, most of the impact of climate change is faced by the poor and smaller countries. For example, low lying poor countries such as Bangladesh see significant destruction from stronger and ever powerful cyclones occurring as a result of climate change. To conclude, developed countries need to help the poor ones by taking a major share of the burden to tackle this global concern.