In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is argued that the government has to spend money to take care of old people, given that in Britain, senior citizens tend to live in a place with other people of the same age where nurses are present to take care of them. This essay disagrees with that statement because it is the responsibility of children and it also increases the burden on the country's economy. A good reason for the family to take care of their old people is that, it is their responsibility to pay for their parents. That is to say that parents sacrifice many things for their children and work hard to give a beautiful life for them and therefore everyone must look after their parents during their old age. For instance, the government of India recently passed an order to its citizens stating that it is a punishable offense if the offspring do not take care of their parents. Another point to consider is that, it reduces stress on the nation's economy. In other words, if the family took care of their old people, the government could save a huge amount of money, which ultimately enhances the financial status of that nation. The apparent corollary of this is that, they can utilize this money and implement more welfare schemes for poor and needy. For instance, a recent article published in TimesNow newspaper, which is the largest circulated daily newspaper in India and also renowned for its accuracy and fairness, stated that India's economy was increased by 5% in the year 2020 after they implemented a rule that offspring should look after their parent’s expenses. In conclusion, the family should bear the expenses of their old age parents because it is their duty and it also mitigates the burden on the nation's economy.