Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Art is a form of life. While many people today think that art as a subject in school is a waste of time, there are plenty who believe that it is an essential subject for kids at school. I strongly believe that art truly enhances the life of a kid and not only should be an essential subject in his or her coursework, but the kid should also be influenced to pursue his passion Imagine if talented artists were forced into following the regular path followed by the masses and did not follow their dream. Would we, today, have Sachin Tendulkar or Thomas Elva Edison as an inspiration to the world? Art would help children to discover their talent as well as relieve stress. The child would be introdiced to multiple forms of art, allowing him and his parents to discover where his talent lies. A research conducted by the Harvard University in 2012, has led psychologists to come to a conclusion that individuals with a hobby firstly, handle work pressures better, secondly, express their emotions better and thirdly, excel in their careers. However, while children are introduced to art as a subject in school, it should not happen that the child focuses on that coursework all alone. Schools should ensure that the attention given to coursework is well balanced. Parents should make certain that the child does justice to the other courses in addition to the art coursework. There can be situations, when a child turns out to be an average performer in every form of art. At such times, he or she should not feel obligated or forced in a way that he or she becomes a Jack of all trades and a master of none. It should be kept in mind that art as a subject is not meant to add stress to a child, instead, it is meant to relieve it. In conclusion, there has to be a well maintained balance between art as a subject and other subjects in school. It should have a positive impact on a child's life to steer it in the right direction and should not be enforced.